Not Much Going On This Week

I got a haircut. They asked “How Long?” I have no idea how the haircutting system works here (or at home for that matter), so I go “Well, um, how bout scissors on top and 1 inch blade on the sides, I mean, 1.5 centimeters.” I’m still not quite sure which measurement system they use. She’s like, “1.5?” I say, “Yes, 1.5 centimeters or 1 inch.” Then, SHOOM from above my left ear through the sideburn. I tell her, “Wait, that is definitely not an inch.” It looked like a short buzz cut. I ask to look at the blade. It says Size 1.5 (3 mm). Apparently, the people in this shop did not know how measurements work, even though they are in the measurement business. I pick out a larger blade for her to do the rest of the haircut. But since there’s already an awkward chunk of buzzcut on the side of my head, she just does the same thing on the other side first to even it out. Sigh. Better luck next time.

I’ve taken ten of the eleven London Underground lines (Bakerloo, Central, Circle, District, Hammersmith & City, Jubilee, Metropolitan, Northern, Piccadilly, Victoria) and only have yet to ride on the Waterloo & City line, which only has two stations and goes back and forth between Waterloo and Bank. Why isn’t is the Waterloo & Bank line? I’m going to take a half hour one day and go out of my way to ride it to complete the set.

Here is the list of the funniest or most interesting Tube stop names that I found:

  • Amersham
  • Angel
  • Arsenal, Gunnersby
  • Bank, Bond Street
  • Barking
  • Blackfriars
  • Boston Manor, Manor House, Mansion House, Ruislip Manor, Swiss Cottage
  • Burnt Oak, Oakwood
  • Canada Water
  • Chalk Farm
  • Cockfosters
  • Elephant & Castle
  • Seven Sisters
  • Tooting Bec, Tooting Broadway

I got a rough awakening to the power of Labour and trade unions here. A friend and I wanted to take the bus in order to find a place for dinner. It was all well and good until the bus never came. Buses continued to pass by eastbound, but none came westbound. Apparently, they decided to call a bus strike (the third one in four weeks) and it only affected the buses going one way. Just too confusing and very inconvenient and very very inefficient from a macro standpoint.

Today I learned that this year is the 800th anniversary of the Magna Carta and the 750th anniversary of Parliament.

I’ve been writing my politics essay and I just wrote down “that Thatcher thought.” Try saying that five times fast.

I currently have 6 flights booked for travel in the next month and a half. All 6 of them are on different airlines – British Airways, airberlin, Ryan Air, Easy Jet, Norweigen, Air Europa. The destinations are a secret for now though.

Counter

  • 6,544 – Words written on this blog so far
  • 5 – Football matches (Crystal Palace, West Ham, Tottenham, Sporting Lisbon, Arsenal)
  • 5 – UNESCO World Heritage Sites visited (Westminster, Tower of London, Kew Gardens, Sintra, Tower of Belem)
  • 4 – Essential items forgotten at least once on trip (Earplugs, Razor, Eye mask, Flip flops)
  • 3 – Airlines flown (United, British Airways, Ryan Air)
  • 2 – Countries (UK, Portugal)
One thought on “Not Much Going On This Week

Leave a Reply

