Three Fifty AM

Stonehenge and Bath

I set my alarm for 3:50a. three fifty am. It was the earliest I’ve ever set an alarm in my entire life. Earlier than the alarms of all those 5:50a flights that my dad booked for the family growing up. I was so nervous that I would sleep straight through it that I had issues sleeping. I almost pulled an all-nighter and as I straggled out of my dorm room, I passed about 30 students who were coming back to campus after clubbing. I even called home to say hi since I knew they hadn’t even gone to bed yet with the 8-hour time difference. The Tube wasn’t running yet, so I had to take a night bus, which got delayed since the drunk clubbing students would start arguing with the driver.

I went with a group of 12 other students by bus to Stonehenge. Sleep was had on the bus so my day didn’t completely fall apart.

Stonehenge was really cool. Since we got there so early and had a private tour before it was opened to the general public, we were allowed to walk right up to the stones and weave through them and take selfies and pretend to touch them as long as we didn’t actually touch them. After this proclamation of no stone touching, the tour guide casually mentioned that he was ex-military and I don’t think he was joking and made all of us really not want to touch the rocks.IMG_0228

We were there so early that we actually saw Stonehenge while the sun was rising over the horizon. ONE PROBLEM. It was so dull and gray and white and cloudy and foggy that we couldn’t see the sun, but I imagine it could have looked spectacular. In fact, sometimes you just have to use Bayesian reasoning that the sun rises and sets each day because often times there is no proof.

IMG_0216

Also, I’m fairly sure this is the first time I have said anything negative about the weather during my entire trip on this blog. I might as well let it all out. It doesn’t rain much at all but it is dark and cold (highs of 35-40 degrees) most days. That’s why you see me wearing my same winter coat in all the pictures. It’s necessary. That’s also why I was so happy in Portugal where it was still only high 50s but I didn’t need the winter coat. Also, catastrophe! I lost my non-partisan blue scarf this week so now I’ve been using my West Ham one, which is fine except for the fact that I will come across a supporter of another team eventually and have issues.

We then bus’ed our way over the ancient Roman city / current British city of Bath. The main attraction was the actual Roman baths – naturally occurring hot springs from the heat of the Earth’s core. Since it was so cold outside, the water steamed. This was perhaps the busiest tourist place I’ve been to during my entire study abroad and it was hard to move around. I like the peaceful, tranquil scenic walks a bit better.IMG_0251Seen on the Tube

A mother had her baby in a stroller. She was using headphones with the volume so loud that she couldn’t hear her baby screaming.

More Football – Crystal Palace vs Newcastle

It was a little bit of been there, done that as Crystal Palace was the first team I saw here and this – with a Queen Mary group – didn’t have the thrill of getting a 2nd row ticket on a lark. I’m now at 6 games while abroad (5 in England, 1 in Portugal), and I’ve seen 8 of the 20 Premier League teams. Still got work to do…

Counter

  • 7,244 – Words written on this blog so far
  • 7 – UNESCO World Heritage Sites (Westminster, Tower of London, Kew Gardens, Sintra, Tower of Belem, Stonehenge, Bath)
  • 6 – Football matches (Crystal Palace x2, West Ham, Tottenham, Sporting Lisbon, Arsenal)
  • 4 – Essential items forgotten at least once on trip (Earplugs, Razor, Eye mask, Flip flops)
  • 3 – Airlines flown (United, British Airways, Ryan Air)
  • 2 – Countries (UK, Portugal)
One thought on “Three Fifty AM

Leave a Reply

